Tees Rowing Club The Slipway North Shore Stockton-on-Tees TS18 2NL



On April 25th the new boats are named. The fours – “John Baker” and “Tom Nattrass”, the sculls “Alf Tomlinson” and “Frank Hall” and the Tub Pair “Eric Colwell”.

David Cruttenden President of Cambridge UBC.

Geoff Potts starts his sculling career at TRC.


Replacement coaching launch and engine purchased with funds raised via sponsored row…..TRC appoints it’s first Publicity Officer – Chris Kenyon.

Tees R C Senior 3 4+

(From bow) – Jim Wolsey, Dave Sandland, Mike Warnock and Mike Firby with cox Ashley Graham(?) won Senior 3 Fours at Wear Regatta in 1971 but are probably remembered as much for the difference in height between stroke and three with Mike W. standing at 6’4″ (1.93m) and Mike F at 5’4″ (1.62m). Despite this – or perhaps because of it – this was a tidy crew as the photo (taken at York) shows. Jim is now living in Durham, Mike F, although now living in Paris, is a regular visitor to the UK, has renewed his Tees membership, races now and then with our vets and racks his single scull at Tees.


Teesside Polytechnic (now University of Teesside RC) take their first tentative strokes led by lecturer David Carter.

Tees RC Vice President Gerald D Cochrane joins us at the Annual Dinner. He is believed to be the oldest living “rowing blue” having rowed for Cambridge in 1906.

Tees Long Distance Sculls first held as an invitation event. Won by Rolf Munding of DUBC.

Tees RC 1st Four

Winners of S1 at Tyne at Home and Durham and Elite at York Summer (The Londesborough). The crew – Bob Robinson, Phil Stephenson, John Lund, Chris Kenyon and cox Ashley Graham are in the club’s only shell four at the time, “The Black Bull”. Bob has since retired but maintains a keen interest in the club as a Life Member. Phil and Chris were back together in our 1999/2000 Veteran E Four. John – now Vicar of Hart Village – went on to become a successful coach of Durham ARC Juniors.


Tees Dockers RC reactivated.

Tees Long Distance Sculls becomes an annual event.


The club takes delivery of it’s first new shell four since the Black Bull in 1959. Built by Roland Sims of Nottingham it is named “John Baker II”.

Geoff Potts, now at Durham ARC, selected as Gt. Britain Lightweight Single Sculler at World Rowing Champs. in Lucerne. First time that these championships include events for lightweights. Geoff wins the first ever WRC lightweight race and finishes 4th overall.


Tees Dockers win Novice Fours at South Hylton and the Eights Championship at the National Dock Labour Board Regatta at Putney.


Full members subs rise to £10 per annum.


Tees RC 3rd in NE League.

Tees Dockers cease activities.

John Roe retires after 14 yrs. as Hon. Treasurer.

An Historic Crew – the 1977 Tees RC Women’s Four

This was the first known Tees RC Women’s crew to race at a regatta. Not only did they race, they won – at York Spring, Chester le Street and Hexham. Pictured L-R are Linda Hall, Lynn Feltoe, Lynn Lee and Judy Preece. The cox was David Rice. (For photo of him see 1978 W4+). Linda, now Mrs. Thomas, lives in Wargrave just across the road from former Tyne member Brian Armstrong. She is still rowing and her daughter Bethan won two J15 silver medals at Nat Champs in 2000. Lynn Lee is the mum of Amelia Jayne Lee – local osteopath and repairer of Tees RC members aches and pains. Lynn Feltoe and husband Colin, who also rowed at Tees now live in new Zealand and have been in touch having found the web site.

Bill Kearsey and Jemima

Bill was one of the influx of new members in the late 1970s who did so much to revive the club’s fortunes. In 1977 he won single sculls at Durham, Chester le Street and Cambois. Seen here in action at Tynemouth Regatta on Killingworth Lake. The boat is Jemima Puddle-Duck built by Edwin Phelps and owned by Chris Kenyon from new in 1969 to 1979. At Lucerne in 1974 this boat, sculled by former Tees member Geoff Potts, won the first ever Lightweight World Championships race. Geoff just missed out on the medals finishing fourth in the final.


Stockton Regatta reintroduced having last been held in 1939. Sponsored by Stockton Borough Council and Evening Gazette.

Tees member Chris Kenyon succeeds Ron Bradbeer of Tyne RC as ARA Divisional Representative.

Naming of John N Roe

With the purchase of a new Ray Sims coxed four in 1978, it was fitting that it should be named after long serving former Hon. Treasurer and Past President John Row. Our photo shows John about to cox the boat having performed the naming ceremony.

Women members invited to attend Club Dinner for the first time.

Tees RC Women’s Four

Pictured after winning at Tyne Regatta are L-R: Judy Preece, Lynn Feltoe, Fran Hawkins, Judith Aitchison and cox David Rice. Lynn emigrated to Canada with rowing husband Colin and family, both Fran and Judith married Tees rowers – Bill Kearsey and David Carter respectively. Does anyone know the whereabouts of Judy and David? The boat is The Collingwood – a Tees RC clinker four named after the pub in Trafalgar Street, Thornaby at which we used to have our committee meetings. The landlady was Mrs. Eva Maiden, the daughter of “Nutty” Walker, a professional sculler and athlete.


Champions of the North East of England.

Led by Club Captain David Carter Tees R C are rewarded for a sustained period of determined and organised training in the gym and on the water – we win the Page Pennant – a trophy presented to ARA Division One by Freddie Page, Honorary Secretary of the Amateur Rowing Association, to encourage competition between the clubs.

Bought coxed four “Tim Wilson”, restricted four “The Borough of Stockton-on-Tees” and Avon coaching launch and engine.

First VIII finishes 43rd in Tideway Head.

First Tees RC entry at Henley Royal Regatta

Thames Cup 1979 – Beat York City RC in the first round, lost to Kingston RC in the second round and gained valuable experience. The crew (from bow): Peter Mackfall, Martin Rawson, Tony McMaster, Graham Calvert, David Carter, Dennis O’Neill, Shaun Wanless, John Inman and cox Gary Bettinson.

The last Yarm Regatta is held. 

Winning at Bradford

Winning what would now be termed Senior 1 are a Tees crew containing some faces which should be familiar to many members today! Tony McMaster (bow – now in the Metropolital Police), Graham Calvert (2 – now back on Teesside after a spell living in Belgium), Peter Mackfall (3 – active Tees veteran whose son Lewis is now one of our Junior members), Martin Rawson (stroke – now plays golf) and Gary Bettinson (cox – active Tees veteran).

David Carter

Seen here in action at Hexham Regatta, David Carter was Captain of Tees RC in the late 1970s and led the club to the North East League Championship in 1979. He also led the foundation of Teesside Polytechnic Rowing Club (now University of Teesside RC).